Posted by: sea2surfing | September 16, 2008

Hawaii Update Part 1

Hi all…

It’s been a while, but we’ve been BUSY!!! We’re so glad that most everyone was able to come to our wedding. I’m sending some pictures that I’m betting you don’t have.

As you may already know, I had a big race the day I flew to California. I didn’t think I would be able to race at all. But, it was the state championships… and since I made crew, how could I not race? The race was at 11am and my flight left at 1pm. We dropped off all my stuff at the airport and then went to the race. The Waikiki Beach Boys Canoe Club came in 1st and 7th (out of 14).

Paul brought his camera, but left the battery at home charging. So, instead, here’s a picture from a prior race at the Waikiki Beach, in front of Duke’s. We won this race too.


Even though I was the one who would have a good excuse to miss my flight, PAUL was the one who wasn’t on his plane in time. Apparently, he got the times mixed up. Luckily, he was able to fly in on the red eye from Honolulu to LAX to San Jose. He arrived the same day as his bachelor party. I don’t have much to say about his bachelor party since I wasn’t there. They did some kind of car racing thing….

Their van was VERY FULL. So, they drew straws (or sticks rather) to see who had to sit in the trunk. You think I’m kidding??? Poor Eric (Kim’s boyfriend). Good thing he’s a good sport.

Then there was our bon fire….



After the wedding, we drove up to see Paul’s family in Mill Valley (just north of the Golden Gate bridge). On the way back, we stopped at the same place Paul retrieved my first starfish. Actually, the starfish was more directly under the bridge. But, they have a fence there now that keeps people out of that area…. Maybe there were too many people hopping down the rocks like Paul.

Then there was our honeymoon. We sailed from Oahu to Molokai to Lanai to Maui, back to Molokai and then back home to Oahu. I never got motion sick until the first time I got in the car with Paul. I had a feeling I would also get sick on a boat with him. I was right. Despite the patch behind the ear, the accupressure wrist bands, and the motion sick pills, the first 8 hours was hard. After that, I did get used to it…. a little too used to it. By the time we got to Maui, I had a hard time walking on land.

You can see Diamondhead in the distance. We left from Hawaii Kai.

This is as dry as I ever saw Paul….

And at the harbor in Lanai…

I’m getting ready to sent part II. Stay tuned… Paul has some stories coming up….


Leave a comment

Categories